D.A.R.E. Essay

D.A.R.E. stands for Drug Abuse Resistance Education. I thought that D.A.R.E. was a very fun program and had a lot of information on why to stay away from drugs. I hope everyone of my peers stay away from drugs so they can have a drug free happy life like I plan to have.

In D.A.R.E. I learned about two drugs that you smoke and they are cigarettes and marijuana . I learned that you must be at least 18 to smoke cigarettes. Cigarettes cause lung cancer which is caused from all the tar that builds up on the lungs from the cigarette smoke. Cigarettes can also cause bad breath and yellow teeth. I also learned that not only can the smoker be effected from the smoke but it also effects the people around the smoker breathing in the smoke. This is called second hand smoking. Then there is Marijuana which is an illegal drug. It causes ling cancer, breathing problems, loss of the ability to concentrate, and it slows coordinations and reflexes.

Then there is chewing tobacco which is like cigarettes but you don’t smoke it. You have to be at least 18 to use chewing tobacco just like cigarettes. Chewing tobacco causes mouth cancer. It can also cause yellow, rotting teeth, bad breath, and gum disease.

Then we learned about a drug you drink which is called alcohol. Alcohol causes brain damage. It can also cause mouth,throat, and liver cancer. Alcohol can cause high blood pressure which increases the chance of having a heart attack or stroke.

Deputy Thomas brought in Smoking Susie who smokes cigarettes to demon straight how much tar covers your lungs from just one cigarette. I was surprised when he said that an ounce of tar covers your lungs with just one cigarette. You would think that if cigarettes did that to your lungs you would try everything to stop smoking because without your lungs you would die and the tar from smoking is killing your lungs so eventually it will kill you.

He also brought out Mr. Dip Lip who chews tobacco. He had yellow rotting teeth with I thought was quite nasty and I wondered why people do drugs if they did that to your teeth because teeth are very important.

There are five types of peer pressure and they are friendly, teasing, indirect, heavy, and positive. There are eight ways to say no to drugs and they are say “no thanks”, Give an excuse or reason, broken record, walk away change the subject, avoid the subject, cold shoulder, and strength in numbers.

To stay away from drugs I play outside with my brother. I also play video games and on the computer. Sometimes I like playing cards and board games with my family. The thing I love doing best is being with my dog and training her to do new things. Next year I’m thinking of joining soccer because it’s my favorite sport.

So I, Megan Budnick, promise to stay away from drugs. I will only do healthy and fun activities. I will help friends say no to drugs and if I have kids I will teach them about drugs and why they need to stay away from them.

Leave a Reply

