My Group At Camp Oty Okwa

At Camp Oty Okwa my group I had people I knew, but I also had people who I didn’t know all that well. My group number was 2 and it had Ashlee J., Jessica W., Rhianna L., Mark S., Stephan D., Tyler W., Austin P., Chase W., and Me in it.

The first day when I heard who was in my group I was like well great I have four people I know and five people I don’t know. When we went on our first class (which was initiatives) we traced Chase’s body and wrote things not to say to others on the outside of his body and things to say to others on the inside of his body.

Then we got in a circle and we had to hold hands and at first I was like yuck I don’t want to hold his hand but then I had to. There was a hula-hoop and two people put there arms through it and held hands again. We had to work together to get it all the way around the circle without letting go of each others hands and believe me when I say that it was hard. But with a little teamwork we managed to get it all the way around the circle.

Then we played two games one about lizards and another about tanks. We played the one about lizards first. We used a ping pong-ball for the egg and we had half pipes and we had to get the ping-pong ball into the tin can and we made it on the second try.

Then we played the game with tanks and I was a tank the first time and Ashlee was the commander. I was blindfolded and we had a blindfold for our ammo and we had to hit the other tanks three times then they would be out and I won the first round but the second round I lost.

Later we had to get through a spider web (made of rope) without touching it because if we did then all the people who made it had to go back and restart. The first time everybody tried to get through by themselves but that didn’t work then Stephan said, ” climb on my back and jump through the big gap on the top of the web” and he got on his back. When we did that we all made it except one person so she got spider lotion (pretend) which let her use her hands to pull the gap wider so she could fit.

Then we became ants on a log searching for food for our queen. Jessica was the queen in the middle and the rest of us were scavengers. The log was pry 4 inches wide and it was slippery from all the rain and the people on each side of Jessica had to get to the other side without falling off or we would have had to start all over again. We tried and tried but we couldn’t do it we tried carrying people and having the walk over us but we kept falling off. Then our time was up so we failed but it was a fun challenge.

Then we went to lunch but we mostly talked to our buddies and not much to the people we didn’t know that well. The only time we talked to the people we didn’t know that well was to pass the drink or food. The girls talked to each other and the boys talked to each other.

During the second class on the first day we used composes and paces to find flags that had our colored card in it and we took that card. There were also question cards that we had to answer. It was fun but it was hard because I kept losing track of my paces because my partner was counting differently then what I was.

There was a guy named Justin that a girl in my group that told me that she thought he was hot and I ran by him and yelled, “She thinks you’re hot!” She was blushing, laughing, and crying at the same time. Everybody started bursting out laughing but she didn’t and Justin didn’t either they were just blushing away.

Then we had dinner. We started to talk to others a little more but not a lot. We started to get to know each other a bit more with every sentence we said. I had a feeling that my group was going to get along just fine.

On the second day we ate breakfast. Some people were talking and some people weren’t. Some people were talking to people from other tables and some people were talking to people beside them. I mostly talked to Ashlee, Jessica, and Rhianna.

When we were all done we were off to the creek study but because of the rain we stayed inside and played games. We played a game where we were insects. It was kinda like sharks and minnows. We had to run from one side of the lunch room to the other without getting tagged three times. Some people had to spin the whole time until they got to the finish, run to the middle then stop and do a push up then run to the finish, hop in a potato sack to the finish, or just run as fast as you can.

It was lunch time and everybody was talking to everybody and so was I. Everybody was having a blast. It was a great day besides the rain that is.

Then we went to Split Rock. I took a lot of pictures of it because it was a very interesting place. We walked through it and ever crawled through some very tight places. It was a blast.

On the third day (which was our last day)when we were at breakfast everybody was talking and having a good time. Everybody was talking about how they didn’t want camp to end. It was fun because everybody was getting to know everybody better instead of only talking to the people who they usually hang out with and know a lot about.

Then we had Pioneering and we went to the Hidden Cave. It was the most beautifulest places I’ve ever been. I hope I can go back there soon with my parents so they can see the beauty of it.

made candles and medicine bags. I got to make candles first. It took a long time because we had to dip the wick in the cold water for ten seconds then in the hot wax for five seconds and it felt like it took and hour to get my candle made. After I had my candle made I found a little flower and stuck it on my candle and dipped it in the wax and water five more times.

Then I made a medicine bag. It was made of leather and I had to use a nail to puncture holes into it so then I could thread string into the holes and put beads on the string. I also put feathers on it so it would look a little better than what it already looked.

When it was time for lunch we knew everybody a lot better and so did I. Everybody was talking to everybody. Everybody was having a good time including me. I was sad that that was our last day and I wish we could stay longer but I guess we couldn’t.

Then it was time to climb the climbing wall. I was the second one to climb it. I got my harness on and said, “on belay” and Jeremy said, “belay on” and I said, ” climb on” and I started to climb. My fingers were getting sore and I was getting ready to give up but then people started cheering my name and I knew I had to keep going. Almost there only a few steps to go I reach but my hands slip and I fall back a few steps. People start cheering louder and I climb higher and higher. My fingers were killing me but I kept going. The bell is just an inch out of reach and I step up on one more rock and reach and the bell goes ding ding ding as I ring it. I say, “elevator” and Jeremy says, “elevator on” and I lean back letting Jeremy walk forwards with the rope letting me down to the ground gently.

Then we played a game in the gym before it was time to go. Willow said something like your favorite color, animal, breakfast food, dinner food, or dessert then we had to get into groups that had the same things as us. Then when Willow points at us we had to scream what it was as loud as we could.

Then it was time to go. On the bus everybody was singing songs like Firework, Farmers Daughter, Dynamite,  and Grenade. Then when we were turning into the schools parking lot everybody put there windows down and started singing Replay as loud as they could.

When I got home I had my mom unpack my stuff and I fell on the couch, I slept from 2:15 to 6:30. I would have slept longer but my mom woke me up because she said, “You’re not going to want to sleep to-night if you keep sleeping.” So I stayed up and told my mom about camp and showed her pictures on my camera that I took at camp. Then when I was done I sat on the couch thinking about my group and how much they changed during camp.

I noticed an extreme change in my group including me from the first day to the last. I think some people even made some new friends that they thought they would never be friends with. I know that I made a few new friends and the people that I was already friends with we became even better friends.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mr. McGuire
    May 16, 2011 @ 14:54:02

    I am glad you made new friends and got to know old ones even better!

    Reply

    • meganb22
      May 16, 2011 @ 15:14:19

      I know that me and Ashlee were fighting all the time but since we were in the same group we are even better friends and we don’t fight anymore.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

